Desolation Island


Barcode: 9780007879731

1 in stock


Desolation Island is the fifth historical novel in the Aubrey-Maturin series by Patrick O’Brian. It was first published in 1978.

Jack Aubrey is in funds from his successful mission to take the islands of Mauritius and Reunion. His house has additions, but he is ready for another voyage. The story includes a voyage meant to reach Australia, and occurs prior to the War of 1812.

Critics have praised the novel’s “literate, clear-eyed realism” at initial publication,and stirring naval action in the cold southern ocean in the chase of the Dutch ship, 20 years after initial publication at the re-issue. Jack Aubrey, having recovered financially in The Mauritius Command, expands his house, pays off his mother-in-law’s debts, and his wife is no longer pinching pennies. His household staffed with seamen, and his daughters and son are thriving. After serving in the Fencibles office for a while, Aubrey starts getting into difficulties both in cards and at business


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Desolation Island”